Hear how the mouth,
so full
of longing for the world,
changes its shape?

“Difference” from My Alexandria

Very much looking forward to Mark Doty’s reading at City Center next Saturday, July 21 at 7:30.  And it’s just been confirmed that the reading will be available via LIVESTREAM video so I’m thrilled that wherever you are you can join us!  You can click here to RSVP for the Livestream .

Mark will read from his poems and from What is the Grass, his forthcoming book-length prose meditation on Walt Whitman, desire, the ecstatic, and the limits of the body.

Here’s a clip from Mark’s Q&A from his reading here in the Nothing is Hidden series in 2010.  I love what he says about “lean[ing] against doubt.”

Click here to listen:  Mark Doty, on Doubt

The question was if I always trusted my voice as a poet, and if not, what would I recommend or works for me.  I think that self-doubt is one’s ally, ultimately.  You need it. The problem is, of course, is that most of us have too much of it.  The project then becomes how to make use of it, how to harness it…I find, as I’m working, what I would refer to as a kind of operational faith:  I believe just enough to write this now. And, later, I can allow all that doubt to come back, all that doubt to come back and lean against it.  And some of that doubt gets really useful in pushing the poem, in sharpening language, in trying to get rid of what’s necessary. And then after the poem is finished, published, the doubt is still there, saying other things, but so far, not enough to shut me up.

Saturday, July 21, 7:30pm
San Francisco Zen Center City Center
300 Page Street, San Francisco

You can purchase tickets and find more information here

Here’s one more clip from that 2010 reading ~

Thank you to the SFZC Livestream crew: Laura Trippi, Dianne Griffin, Tanya Takacs, Shundo Haye, and Caren McDonald!