I finally watched The Godfather for the first time last night, the first hour of it.   I was struck at how Vito Corleone is introduced, as a listener.   And the act of listening is central to his power.    There’s a palpable quality to his listening and supreme importance is placed on the maintenance of social ties through face-to-face conversation.

He’s pissed that Bonasera wants to ask him for this favor without having more of a relationship in place, “I can’t remember the last time that you invited me to your house for a cup of coffee, even though my wife is godmother to your only child.”

I don’t really have much to say about this, or more accurately, I have so much to say, it makes it difficult to say any of it at the moment, but I’m looking forward to watching the rest of the film and and seeing the role listening plays.